Author Topic: not all Modems visible  (Read 3636 times)

sierre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
not all Modems visible
« on: February 15, 2010, 07:43:31 am »
Hi,
just buyed and installed nrcomm.lib v9.
Environment: Embarcadero Rad Studio 2010, C++.

I created a new app and placed nrcommtapi and nrdevicebox on it, with property nrcomm=nrCommTAPI1.
Additionally i placed a button which calls nrCommTAPI1->Update().

The Devicebox just lists one modem, in fact there are more than 5 installed (visible with hyperterminal).

Where's the error? How can I make alle modems visible?
Thanks.
  S.Ertle

Roman Novgorodov

  • Engineer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
  • we will win
    • View Profile
    • Forums.nrCommLib.Com
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2010, 07:48:54 am »
Hello

Please open Control Panel's Phone and Modem Options.
Show me a screenshot of this modem list.

Roman Novgorodov
DeepSoftware llc - The professional components for Delphi/CBuilder/.NET. The high quality custom software development.
Forums.nrCommLib.Com - DeepSoftware Tech Support Forum.

sierre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2010, 08:19:52 am »
Hi,

here's the modemlist.
only the last modem is visible.

thanks.

Roman Novgorodov

  • Engineer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
  • we will win
    • View Profile
    • Forums.nrCommLib.Com
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2010, 08:39:45 am »
Hello

It seems like you are using multi-functional ISDN device. It provides several device interfaces (configs, fax. etc.)

But nrComm Lib supports "comm\datamodem" class only. Therefore it does not show them.

Roman Novgorodov
DeepSoftware.Com
DeepSoftware llc - The professional components for Delphi/CBuilder/.NET. The high quality custom software development.
Forums.nrCommLib.Com - DeepSoftware Tech Support Forum.

sierre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2010, 09:31:31 am »
Hi,

i already had installed nrCommLib V5 with Borland C++ Builder 6, and there all modems where showed correct (same ISDN-Hardware).
And the ISDN-Card-Driver provides analog datamodems with emulation.

So, how can we go one step further?
any diagnostic tools? registry-data?

thanks.
  S.Ertle

sierre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2010, 09:39:21 am »
now i tried following:

VMware virtual machine with win2k, avm-isdn connected.
Old Software with nrCommLib V5: works fine, alle modems showed.

New app with Rad-Studio 10, nrCommLib V9 in same VM:
no Modems showed, even after ->Update().

The tests above are with WinXp.

Thanks.

Roman Novgorodov

  • Engineer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
  • we will win
    • View Profile
    • Forums.nrCommLib.Com
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2010, 10:18:15 am »
Hello

Thank you for your information.

Please take tapi demo from attachment and run. You will find LOG file. Please send it to me.

Roman Novgorodov
DeepSoftware.Com

DeepSoftware llc - The professional components for Delphi/CBuilder/.NET. The high quality custom software development.
Forums.nrCommLib.Com - DeepSoftware Tech Support Forum.

sierre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2010, 10:23:29 am »
Hi,

thank you for your tapidemo - it works (logfile attached).

If I compile the tapidemo, no modems are shown  :( (i like those kind of errors...)

so, any ideas?
thanks,
   s.ertle

Roman Novgorodov

  • Engineer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
  • we will win
    • View Profile
    • Forums.nrCommLib.Com
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2010, 11:10:25 am »
Hello

It's strange. Attached was created with latest nrComm Lib v9.03 in Delphi7

Please try new one from attachment. It has been created in RAD2010.

Roman Novgorodov
DeepSoftware.Com
DeepSoftware llc - The professional components for Delphi/CBuilder/.NET. The high quality custom software development.
Forums.nrCommLib.Com - DeepSoftware Tech Support Forum.

sierre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2010, 11:24:55 am »
Hello,

thank you. Your new Tapidemo works fine, too.

There seems to be a problem with my installation? hmm
I have installed some other components - but this should be no problem.

How can we check the work of nrcommlib? versions-check? debug-messages?

Thanks again,
  S.Ertle

Roman Novgorodov

  • Engineer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
  • we will win
    • View Profile
    • Forums.nrCommLib.Com
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2010, 11:41:19 am »
Hello

I can recommend you to completely remove nrComm Lib and install again:

1) Please close Delphi/Builder
2) Run nrComm Lin Uninstall
3) Find and delete home folder where nrComm Lib was installed
4) Run Delphi again and remove all nrCommLib paths from IDE options. Possible Delphi sees outdated copy of nrComm somewhere.
5) Try to search you disk on "nrcomm*.bpl" instance and delete all
6) Run setup of nrComm v9.03 again.

Roman Novgorodov
DeepSoftware.Com
DeepSoftware llc - The professional components for Delphi/CBuilder/.NET. The high quality custom software development.
Forums.nrCommLib.Com - DeepSoftware Tech Support Forum.

sierre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2010, 12:51:44 pm »
Hi,

it is a new installation.
New WinXP, new C++2010 and new components.
But ok, i'll try it again.

thanks,
  S.Ertle

sierre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2010, 02:57:33 pm »
Hello,

now i completely deinstalled and reinstalled nrcommLib.
But this didn't make it better.

There's only one Modem visible.
So, how may we debug it?

Thank you,
  S.Ertle

sierre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2010, 03:03:50 pm »
Hello,

i'm wondering where i the source-code is located.
The source-directory is empty, but the pro-version should be shipped with source  ???

So, how can i debug it?

(my time with this project is running out - customer is waiting)

thanks.

Roman Novgorodov

  • Engineer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
  • we will win
    • View Profile
    • Forums.nrCommLib.Com
Re: not all Modems visible
« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2010, 04:57:40 pm »
Hello

Please write me over email from your registered email address and we will provide you the release with sources.

Roman Novgorodov
DeepSoftware.Com
DeepSoftware llc - The professional components for Delphi/CBuilder/.NET. The high quality custom software development.
Forums.nrCommLib.Com - DeepSoftware Tech Support Forum.