Author Topic: DJ console  (Read 8044 times)

mathieu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
DJ console
« on: June 29, 2009, 12:17:21 pm »
Hello everybody !

I just tried the HID plugin with the hope that I could use my "DJ console" to control winamp.
I don't expect to mix with winamp but just to change the volume, skip to the next track, or play/pause, etc.

The plugin recognize the DJ console, but it doesn't help to control winamp either it does nothing or it keep shifting the track or turning the sound on/off constantly.

did anyone had ever succeed to control winamp with the plugin ?
Thanks

Mathieu

Roman Novgorodov

  • Engineer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
  • we will win
    • View Profile
    • Forums.nrCommLib.Com
Re: DJ console
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2009, 12:43:16 pm »
Hello

Before use DJ console with our HID Plugin you should assign device buttons to needed winamp actions.
Did you assign actions?

Also please tell me version of your WINAMP.

Roman Novgorodov
DeepSoftware llc - The professional components for Delphi/CBuilder/.NET. The high quality custom software development.
Forums.nrCommLib.Com - DeepSoftware Tech Support Forum.

mathieu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: DJ console
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2009, 02:52:22 am »
Hello !

I use Winamp 5.52
Yes I tried to assign actions as it was said in the README file that opened when I installed it.
When I configure the plugin and press "assign" a windows opens and says "PRESS and RELEASE..."
But as soon as the window had appeared, it closes, and in advanced mode it says e.g. "Play/pause     Assigned     Hercules DJ console" in green.
Another detail is that when I "assign" play/pause, after it is assigned, the music starts to read on its own, and play, and pause and play/pause/play/pause/etc. for about 2 seconds each, and this will stop if I push any button of my DJ console.
It does the same with any other button : "mute" will shift from sound to mute every 2 seconds, "next track" will skip a track every 2 seconds, until I push any button of the Hercules DJ Console or turn a knob.

thanks for trying to help me !
Mathieu

mathieu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: DJ console
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2009, 03:03:18 am »
I forgot to  say that when I am on the "action" window, on the line "Active HID" I can choose between 3 different "Hercules DJ console" and that something happen only if I choose the first one or "autodetect"
(otherwise, with the 2 others, the elements will stay "unassigned" in red)


Mathieu

Roman Novgorodov

  • Engineer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
  • we will win
    • View Profile
    • Forums.nrCommLib.Com
Re: DJ console
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2009, 10:11:18 am »
Hello

Please tell me your Windows version.

Also I need to know following:

Does WINAMP react on DJ clicks without HID Plugin?
There is possible a situation when Windows and HID device implement some actions correctly and player already acts them well.
In this case the HIDPlugin actions conflict with default actions by system and player can have strange behavior.

You can check this. Just clear all assigned HID Plugin actions and try to click DJ buttons.
In this situation you should keep actions handled by system as unassigned in HID Plugin and assign only actions that do not handled by system.

Please try and let me know the results.

If it will not help I will try think up something more :-)

You describe that actions are repeated. It's strange. Possible your DJ device sends HID messages in loop ...


Roman Novgorodov
DeepSoftware
DeepSoftware llc - The professional components for Delphi/CBuilder/.NET. The high quality custom software development.
Forums.nrCommLib.Com - DeepSoftware Tech Support Forum.

mathieu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: DJ console
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2009, 04:29:44 pm »
Hello Roman,

I am using Windows XP with all the updates (SP3 I think)

I tried what you said : I unassigned every button and tried to push every button of the DJ console in Winamp, but nothing happened.

Now that I read what you wrote in the last reply, I understand that the dj console is sending a signal every 2~3 seconds and that the HID plugin interpret this as if it was me pushing a button.

A last thing : I did not realize from the beginning, but even if the DJ console is my (external) sound card, and turned ON, the light on the top are not ON.
In other words, it is possible that the control panel only turns on when Virtual DJ is executed. On the control panel there are light that only turns on when virtual DJ or another DJ software are launched.

I will do some more test while Virtual DJ is ON, and test the assignment in Winamp with that.

I'll post it soon.

Mathieu

mathieu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: DJ console
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2009, 04:43:36 pm »
So I just made the test, with virtual DJ on, so the lights of the control panel were ON as well, but nothing changed.

by the way, I was assigning the volume down, and I could see that volume knob of Winamp was going down little by little (in a random way, sometime quick, sometime slow) until I pushed a button of the control panel of the DJ console, then it stopped to go down on its own. But if I try to assign it again, the same happen again.

thanks again for the time you are spending to help me.

Mathieu

Roman Novgorodov

  • Engineer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
  • we will win
    • View Profile
    • Forums.nrCommLib.Com
Re: DJ console
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2009, 02:49:35 pm »
Hello

HIDPlugin was tested with following types of HID device events:
1) You press button on device (remote control) and HID plugin receives two messages: DOWN and UP. It does not mutter you hold button or release immediately.

2) You press button on device (remote control) and HID plugin receives two messages: DOWN when you press and hold button and UP message if you release button.

It seems like the your device repeats the messages if you press and hold button. Current version of plugin does not handle this situation correctly for Volume actions.

We will resolve this trouble asap.

By the way, you can check if your device sends messages repeatedly. Open HIDPlugin options and jump to About tab. Now double click on text with HIDPlugin title. You will see new tab with detail information about HID devices. You can select needed device and open it for reading. You will see messages at bottom after button presses.

Roman Novgorodov
DeepSoftware llc - The professional components for Delphi/CBuilder/.NET. The high quality custom software development.
Forums.nrCommLib.Com - DeepSoftware Tech Support Forum.

mathieu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: DJ console
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2009, 08:14:20 am »
Hello,

thanks for your answer
I tested the new tab you told me
It shows a lot of informations :

Active HID device : I can choose between 3 different "Hercules DJ console"
depending on the choice I will have different things on the "General HID info" window :

the first choice :      input buttons, input values, output buttons
the second choice :  input buttons, input values
the third choice :     input buttons


second window : lots of informations...

in the third window : (I turned on the HID report just for 10 seconds)

HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80
HID Report is received: 20 bytes 01 00 00 00 40 75 77 A4 00 00 00 4D D5 86 AD FC BC 30 80 80

if I touch any button of DJ console, it will change the informations of course. on the DJ console there are 14 analogue sliders or knobs + 28 buttons : that's why there are so many informations.

Please tell me if you want more detailed informations given by the second window or when I push the buttons on the DJ console.

for information : http://www.cdrinfo.com/Sections/Reviews/Specific.aspx?ArticleId=11150&PageId=1


Mathieu

Roman Novgorodov

  • Engineer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
  • we will win
    • View Profile
    • Forums.nrCommLib.Com
Re: DJ console
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2009, 02:28:28 pm »
Hello

Thank you for information.

If I understand you correctly, the DJC sends messages continuously, even if no buttons were pressed.
It's surpise, because early we have deal with remote controls that send messages after button click only.

Please, if you have time, take the debug version of plugin from attachment, UnZIP and replace current installed version of plugin.

Usual plugins are located here:
"C:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins\gen_nrhid.dll"

After that please open plugin settings, check "Logging" and try to assign different actions.

Close winamp and send to me a log file. It will be located here:

"C:\Documents and Settings\Your Login Name \Local Settings\Application Data\HID-Plugin\nrhid.log"

Roman Novgorodov

DeepSoftware llc - The professional components for Delphi/CBuilder/.NET. The high quality custom software development.
Forums.nrCommLib.Com - DeepSoftware Tech Support Forum.

mathieu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: DJ console
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2009, 03:44:07 pm »
Hi !

I did what you said
here is the file

Note that when the plugin asked me to push a button to assign, I did not have the time to push any button, the window close really quick.

good luck with this

mathieu

D.Moork

  • Guest
DJ console
« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2009, 06:29:10 am »
PS3 out in UK 4.5 hrs ago    .I am sooooo excited I nearly woke up.

Joke.:shocked:

Great console , but I dont see the point if you have a decent PC  .

Can someone explain :?: